justanotheraverageblog

Just another WordPress.com site

When Nations Colide!

First off I would like to apologise to any readers of my blog. I realise I have been away for over a couple of weeks for both personal reasons and the fact that I have been waiting to get an iPod or phone to use the WordPress (in my case an iPod). This now means I shall now be able to blog whenever I like instead of being cramped up at he computer desk.

Now onto the blog! (I apologise for some of the life story introduction).

I’m not a big fan of sports, I bet on it every now and then but otherwise from that I don’t support a team or follow a sport. I will admit that I do love American sports (NFL, MLB, etc) as i find them a lot more excitable than British sports. Recently though I found myself becoming strangely patriotic when it comes to the sports of “rugby”. I used to play rugby when I was about 13/14 but then stopped. Due to me participating in rugby my dad started to take a massive interest in it and I never heard the end of it when my interest started to decline. I watched the 2003 world cup (when England won!) and he 2007 world cup (when England got slaughtered) but coming up to the 2011 world cup I really didn’t want to know. I watched the first match of England and just got completely hooked again. I find myself really backing England throughout their journey and believe that they can take home the trophy for the second time.

I know it’s cliche to say but rugby really is a good gentlemen’s sport that can bring fans together whatever the difference, whatever the nationality. It’s good to be able to back a team that can actually win but when they do lose he fans don’t kick off and attempt to torch down a stadium. It’s good to back a team with a good English manager who has experience on the pitch instead of a sagging faced Italian that blames his poor management on poor communication (and yes I know Capello played in the 70s/80s). The England rugby team don’t take the criticism of the football team but when they do they don’t talk into a bunch of whining Rooneys and blame the fans for their lack of performance, but admit their faults. I’m not trying to preach rugby as a sport to you don’t worry I’m just expressing my own personal opinion. I don’t even suggest you check out rugby unless you are a fan. Sport seems to be an easy and simple way for people to come together even if they has a strong hatred for each others way of life.

Sorry that this blog was more a personal post than my usual review and argument but it was just something that I wanted to kick back off with. Please do keep checking for updates and I’ll be back in my usual stride blogging about random nonsense involving some form of media.

Leave a Reply

